Teamline is designed to make your team more open and transparent, so by default all tasks are visible to the team (while tasks in private groups are only visible to group members). You can choose to make some of your tasks private, so that they aren't visible to other members of your team.
Private tasks are only visible to assignees, and the specific people who are allowed to see them (when you create a private task, this includes the person who creates the task).
You can see what tasks are private in your task list, because they have a shield icon on the right of the task.
To make an existing task private
- Open the task in the Teamline app,
- Click the "More..." button and select "Make Private"
- The task will be private - the shield icon will appear, and a list of people who are allowed to see the task appears below the task details (above comments)
To make my task list private
You can tell Teamline to automatically make all of your new tasks private.
To do this, open your Teamline "Account Settings" (in the top-left menu, accessed by clicking the Teamline logo). You can choose the appropriate privacy under "My tasks".
When you enable this option, any task created in your task list is automatically private:
- If you create a task for yourself in the Teamline app (by typing into the "Add a task..." box)
- If somebody else creates a task for you in the Teamline app
- If you create a task for yourself by sending a direct message to @teamline in Slack
- If somebody else creates a task for you by sending a direct message to @teamline in Slack (e.g. you can create a task for @allan by sending a direct message to Teamline that says "Write TPS report @allan")
Note: This doesn't affect tasks created in a channel, as they are automatically applied the appropriate permissions for that channel.